top of page

Interview | Abi Hill - Plus Size Model


(Photo credit - Michelle George)

Firstly, what made you get in to modelling?

I had looked at starting modelling for a while, but had always put it on hold because I didn’t believe there was any interest in someone who wasn’t a size 6. Then in 2010, I started competing in Pageants and part of my preparation was a photo-shoot with a local photographer called Paul, who I had known a while from when he photographed Ice Hockey matches. When I got the photos back, I was so happy I decided from there that I would pursue it, initially more as a hobby than a job, but the way things worked out meant I was earning pretty quickly from it. I knew I had a niche, that would always work for me as long as I worked hard.

Can you tell me about your experience in pageants?

Well, I have always watched Miss World – every year, for as long as I can remember. Again, it was something I loved watching but always saw as “off limits” because of my dress size. When I saw Chloe Marshall come second in Miss England in 2008, I knew I would end up competing! I decided to wait until after my A-Levels, so first competed in 2010 when I was at University in Loughborough. Not many people get to say they won their first ever Pageant, but I did! So from there I got to compete in the Miss England semi-finals, which were an amazing experience. I’ve competed regionally nearly every year since, and hope to get further in the next year or so, before I “age out”.

What was your favourite moment?

The winning moment is an amazing feeling, but some of the most rewarding moments have been the charity side of Pageants – the side many people forget about. I got to visit Rainbows Childrens Hospice in Loughborough and take a tour of the facilities they have there, to see where their fundraising is going. I also got to help with their Midnight Walk, which raised nearly £15,000 – I still look back on my involvement with Rainbows as one of the highlights of my year as Miss Loughborough.

(Photo Credit - Rebecca Elizabeth)

What opportunities have you had from entering them?

Aside from modelling and charity work, the biggest opportunity has been the chance to meet so many different women, who all have their own story to tell. I am still in touch with many of the girls from the “Class of 2010” and everyone has already achieved so much in the time since we competed together – numerous graduates, business starters, even reality TV!

You won the Simply Be Model Comp, how did that go?

It was one of the longest days ever, but it was an incredible experience. A couple of us had decided to share a hotel room the night before and the night of the competition to keep our costs down, which I think helped us feel less nervous at the idea of catwalks and photo-shoots the next day. Once we got there, we were assigned our groups and our looks, as well as our schedule for the day, and we worked through everything before hitting the catwalk for the final show. As the evening went on, I was confident I was doing my best, but honestly it could have been any of the finalists who won! They even extended the top 5 into a top 7 because they couldn’t (and wouldn’t) decide who to cut. Once I was in the top 7 and I knew there was an interview round, I knew I had a chance there to win it – or lose it – so I took my time to think about my answers and just tried to speak clearly but naturally. When it came to the winning moment, we had been waiting a while – the longer I wait, the more I tend to get nervous – so by that point, I was holding onto Kay who was stood next to me for dear life! I knew I’d done my best, but to win was still a huge shock.

What opportunities have you had since then?

I’ve been very lucky to have worked for several agencies all over the country since winning the Simply Be competition, which has really helped me develop as a model AND a person. I got to travel to New York with one of my best friends, Sam, where we had an amazing few days sightseeing, shopping and watching sports. I’ve also been published in Reveal Magazine and appeared at the opening of four of Simply Be’s high street stores including my local one at intu MetroCentre. More recently I have worked with several national brands including Pamela Mann hosiery, for their plus size look-book.

What is your proudest achievement as far as your modelling is concerned?

I’ve done some amazing things, but my proudest achievement is probably having the confidence to even begin modelling. As I was growing up, two of the things I was bullied for the most were my height and my size – now I have made those two things specifically work for me as a career, which is something not many people can say. If I had to pick one moment though, it would be being able to go into my hairdressers and point to myself in a two-page Magazine spread – that was surreal!

What does the future hold for Abigail Hill?

Lots! I have so many things planned for the next few years – more travel (I’d like to go back to New York, but also to Canada to see friends and Thailand to see family), more Pageants and hopefully lots more cool Modelling jobs. I’m also hoping to set up a charity skydive, wing-walk and zip-wire...because I have always been a bit of an adrenaline junkie!

What advice would you give to someone who would like to get in to Plus Size Modelling?

Work hard! It’s not something you can just coast through because of your size – you still need to be eating a healthy diet and hitting the gym, otherwise you won’t have the physical strength to get through some of the long hours. I have had to go to London overnight on the coach before in order to make my call-time for shoots, it’s not always glamorous and it is tough, but it’s worth it if you work hard. Also, it’s worth remembering that what you’re asked to model could be very different to what you’d choose for yourself...keep an open mind and think of your outfit when you’re posing.

(Photo Credit - Anette Schive)

Is there anything you would do differently?

Not at all – everything happens for a reason. It is easy to look back at what you could have done in a certain situation. Hindsight is 20/20 after all! However, once you start focusing on the past it becomes harder and harder to move forward, no matter how far.

Who inspires you?

I can’t help but look at Candice Huffine and be inspired – she’s a total chameleon and seems to suit everything she wears (the sign of a good model!) and she seems such good fun too! Away from modelling, I would have to say my Mum, because she’s my mum, and my good friend Sam, who is such a positive influence and proof that you can succeed with hard work and a good attitude. I remember him talking about taking up sprinting when we were in New York – later that year he was representing Great Britain at London 2012 – it doesn’t get much more inspirational than that.

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square

Advertisers

bottom of page